What do Citrus Oils do for my Skin?

Cleansing, detoxifying and oh-so-uplifting
down arrow

All citrus oils have a cleansing and detoxifying effect to help tone your skin, leaving it looking bright and feeling refreshed.

With their bright and cheery notes, the scents of orange, lemon, grapefruit and lime oils are immediately recognizable in just about any product you find them in. But when we take a deeper look at these beautiful ingredients, we discover that there’s more to them than their fresh scents.

Where do they come from?

The rind (or peel) of citrus fruits feature a waxy, bumpy texture and white pithy under layer that helps keep the delicious fruit inside protected from the outside world. But it’s within their peels that you’ll find a huge portion of the fruit’s essential oils.

To get these oils, we use a process called cold-pressed extraction: the rinds are squeezed to extract the oils. Doing this process without the assistance of heat helps retain the oil’s flavor, aroma and nutritional value.

What are the benefits of citrus oils?

They’re cleansing
All citrus essential oils are natural cleansers—it’s why you’ll find them in so many products from household cleaners to cosmetics. The grapefruit infusion and lime oil in Ocean Salt make this cleanser great for leaving skin refreshed and radiant. It’s also packed with a heaping dose of fine and coarse sea salt to give skin a serious scrub. It’s so good that it’s one of our bestselling products!

A blend of citrus ingredients in our Tea Tree Toner Water will keep you cleansed and refreshed

Tea Tree Toner Water

They’re detoxifying
Loaded with enzymes and antioxidants, citrus fruits are also great detoxifiers. Just To Clarify is a jelly face mask that we’ve packed with an enzymatic blend of papaya, orange and grapefruit to create a cleansing, skin-toning mask that’ll brighten dull complexions. And if you’re looking for something with a little more exfoliation, Don’t Look At Me Fresh Face Mask’s got you covered. It’s packed with fresh lemon juice and grapefruit oil to cleanse, as well as gently scrubbing ground rice to remove dry skin.

They’re instantly recognizable
Citrus essential oils also have the added benefit of having delightfully bright and cheery scents. And although that might not be about skincare, these fresh scents are naturally uplifting and will revive your senses. So, when you’re spritzing your skin with Tea Tree Toner Water , its light juniper berry and grapefruit water blend will keep you skin and mind feeling refreshed and good to go!

Want even more citrusy goodness in your life? Visit your local Lush shop to sniff out all our skincare goodies or give our customer care team a call at 1-888-733-5874 to learn more.

Share this story:

Products featured in this article:

Products featured in this article:

Ocean Salt Ocean Salt
Face And Body Scrub

Ocean Salt

Brightening lime scrub

4.5 stars out of 5
Just To Clarify Just To Clarify
Jelly Face Mask

Just To Clarify

Get your glow on

4.5 stars out of 5
Don't Look At Me Don't Look At Me
Fresh Face Mask

Don't Look At Me

Brightening and scrubby

4.5 stars out of 5
Tea Tree Water Tea Tree Water
Toner

Tea Tree Water

Refresh and balance

4.5 stars out of 5

Quels sont les bienfaits des huiles essentielles d’agrumes pour la peau?

Elles nettoient, purifient et énergisent
down arrow

Toutes les huiles essentielles d’agrumes ont un effet nettoyant et purifiant qui tonifie, rafraîchit et fait resplendir la peau.

Avec leur parfum ensoleillé et exaltant, les huiles essentielles d’orange, de citron, de pamplemousse et de limette sont immédiatement reconnaissables dans pratiquement tous les produits qui en contiennent. Lors que nous examinons ces magnifiques ingrédients en profondeur, nous réalisons que leurs bienfaits ne se limitent pas à leur parfum rafraîchissant.

D’où proviennent-elles?

L’écorce (la pelure) des fruits a une texture cireuse et bosselée et une couche inférieure blanche qui aide à protéger le fruit des dommages. On retrouve une grande partie des huiles essentielles du fruit dans sa pelure.

Pour extraire ces huiles, nous procédons à une pression à froid : nous pressons la pelure pour en extraire les huiles. Effectuer ce processus sans chaleur nous permet de conserver la saveur, le parfum et la valeur nutritionnelle de l’huile.

Quels sont les bienfaits des huiles essentielles d’agrumes?

Elles nettoient

Les huiles essentielles d’agrumes sont des nettoyants naturels. C’est pourquoi on en retrouve dans de nombreux produits, comme des nettoyants ménagers et des cosmétiques. L’infusion de pamplemousse et d’huile essentielle de limette dans Sel océanique en font un excellent nettoyant pour rafraîchir la peau et lui donner de l’éclat. Il contient aussi une bonne dose de sel de mer fin et grossier pour exfolier la peau en profondeur. Il est si efficace qu’il s’agit de l’un de nos produits les plus populaires!

Les agrumes dans notre tonique Eau de melaleuca nettoient et rafraîchissent

Tea Tree Toner Water

Elles purifient
Remplis d’enzymes et d’antioxydants, les agrumes ont des propriétés détoxifiantes. Juste pour clarifier est un masque en gelée qui contient un mélange enzymatique de papaye, d’orange et de pamplemousse. Il nettoie et tonifie la peau tout en donnant de l’éclat au teint. Si vous voulez une exfoliation plus en profondeur, essayez le masque frais pour le visage Méchant look. Il est rempli de jus de citron frais, d’huile essentielle de pamplemousse et de riz moulu pour enlever la peau morte en douceur.

Elles sont facilement reconnaissables
Les huiles essentielles d’agrumes ont aussi l’avantage supplémentaire d’avoir des parfums naturellement vibrants et rafraîchissants qui vous donneront de l’énergie. Par exemple, le tonique Eau de melaleuca, avec son parfum de baie de genièvre et d’eau de pamplemousse, est excellent pour rafraîchir le corps et l’esprit et vous préparer à affronter la journée!

Vous voulez profiter encore plus du pouvoir des agrumes? Visitez votre boutique Lush pour découvrir nos soins pour le visage ou téléphonez à notre équipe du service à la clientèle au 1 888 733-5874 pour en savoir plus.

Partager cette histoire:

Produits mentionnés dans cet article :

Produits mentionnés dans cet article :

Ajouter à la liste de souhaits
Sel océanique Sel océanique
Exfoliant pour le visage et le corps

Sel océanique

Notre exfoliant vedette pour un teint radieux

4.5 stars out of 5
Ajouter à la liste de souhaits
Juste pour clarifier Juste pour clarifier
Masque pour le visage en gelée

Juste pour clarifier

Brillez de mille feux

0 stars out of 5
Ajouter à la liste de souhaits
Méchant look Méchant look
Masque frais pour le visage

Méchant look

Nettoie et fait resplendir

5 stars out of 5
Ajouter à la liste de souhaits
Eau de Melaleuca Eau de Melaleuca
Tonique

Eau de Melaleuca

Équilibre et calme la peau grasse

5 stars out of 5