What Are Essential Oils?

Learn about these amazing ingredients
down arrow

We use essential oils in our products for their beautiful scent, their skin-loving qualities and the all-round positive effects they have on your body and mind. But what are they, exactly?

Essential oils are literally the essence of the plants they come from. They’re concentrated liquids containing the parts of the plant that attract pollinators, deter pests and smell so nice. They’re made from flowers, trees, herbs, spices, shrubs, shoots and all sorts of greenery. But they don’t just smell great they’re full of goodness for your mind, body and soul, and it’s for that reason they’ve been used for centuries for all things from religious incense, to medicine, to food flavoring.

These oils are used in hundreds of everyday products. They’re often dismissed as smelly things you buy in vials and keep stowed away for sporadic use, but they’re so much more than that. You’ll find them in laundry detergent, the scented candles you decorate your home with, the treats you eat, the perfumes you spritz and the remedies you use to fight a cold. All in all, they’re pretty amazing.

Essential oils are the essence of a plant

Essential oils are the essence of a plant.

One of the most common uses for essential oils is in perfume. The fragrances we scent our lives with are often clever combinations of essential oils put together in much the same way an artist constructs a painting with colors and inks. The word perfume comes from the Latin per fumum, which literally means “by smoke” – the oldest method of extracting perfume from plants.

Essential oils can be made from hundreds of plants, which means there’s a huge variation in their look, texture, color and smell, not to mention in the extraction methods used to obtain them. The method used to obtain an oil depends on the flower or plant it’s extracted from. Each method yields a slightly different product, either an absolute, concrete, butter or essential oil. Regardless of texture, though, they all have wonderful benefits for your body and mind.

Have some questions about essential oils? Visit your local Lush shop for expert advice, or call our friendly customer care team at 1-888-733-5874.

Share this story:

Les huiles essentielles, c’est quoi?

Découvrez ces ingrédients incroyables
down arrow

Nous utilisons des huiles essentielles pour leur magnifique parfum, leurs bienfaits pour la peau et leurs effets positifs sur le corps et l’esprit. Mais que sont-elles, exactement?

Les huiles essentielles sont produites par la distillation de substances aromatiques contenues dans une plante. Elles sont extraites des parties de la plante qui attirent les pollinisateurs, éloignent les animaux nuisibles et sentent bon. Les huiles essentielles proviennent des fleurs, des arbres, des épices, des arbustes, des pousses et autres végétaux. Au-delà de leur parfum agréable, elles sont bénéfiques pour le corps et l’esprit, et c’est pourquoi elles sont utilisées depuis des siècles dans toutes sortes de produits, comme l’encens, les médicaments et les arômes alimentaires.

On les retrouve dans des centaines de produits utilisés quotidiennement. Quand on pense aux huiles essentielles, on imagine souvent des substances fortement parfumées qu’on achète dans des fioles et qu’on entrepose pour utiliser de temps en temps, mais elles sont beaucoup plus utiles que nous le pensons. Il y a des huiles essentielles dans le détergent à lessive, dans les chandelles parfumées, dans la nourriture, dans les parfums et même dans certains médicaments. Somme toute, elles sont assez géniales!

L’un des usages les plus courants des huiles essentielles est la parfumerie. Les fragrances que nous utilisons au quotidien sont souvent un mélange ingénieux d’huiles essentielles, combinées d’une manière similaire à un artiste qui crée une toile avec des couleurs et de l’encre. Le terme « parfum » provient du latin per fumum, qui signifie « par fumée » : la plus vieille méthode d’extraction de fragrance d’une plante.

Puisque les huiles essentielles peuvent être fabriquées à partir d’une centaine de plantes, elles varient grandement en apparence, en texture, en couleur et en parfum, sans parler des méthodes d’extraction, qui dépendent de la fleur ou de la plante. Chaque méthode produit un résultat final légèrement différent : un absolu, une concrète, un beurre ou une huile essentielle. Toutefois, peu importe la texture, ces substances ont toutes des bienfaits merveilleux pour le corps et l’esprit.

Vous avez des questions sur les huiles essentielles? Visitez votre boutique Lush pour obtenir des conseils d’experts ou téléphonez à notre sympathique équipe du service à la clientèle au 1 888 733-5874.

Partager cette histoire: