Reasons to Scrub

The benefits of buffing
down arrow

Did you know that your skin loses roughly one million dead cells every day? It’s constantly shedding old cells and rebuilding new ones.

Skin cells are so tiny that this daily turnover isn’t actually visible to the naked eye, but when your skin doesn't get much exfoliation, dead skin cells can combine with the skin's own natural oils and block pores. This can lead to blackheads, breakouts, and congested skin—none of which are enjoyable!

Another reason to exfoliate? The ever-dreaded in-grown hair. An in-grown hair is formed when hair can’t grow through a pore due to dry skin cells blocking the surface of the skin. Imagine a flower trying to grow through a layer of cement on the sidewalk—unable to push through, it would get stuck. By exfoliating, you remove those dead skin cells that might otherwise block pores and cause in-grown hairs.

Exfoliate naturally

You’ll never find plastic microbeads in our products, as we only use natural exfoliators that are biodegradable. This is better for the environment—because plastic that's washed down the drain introduces toxic chemicals to aquatic ecosystems—and these natural exfoliators feel amazing on the skin, too. No matter whether you’re after a gentle scrub or an intense sloughing, we’ve got an exfoliating product for you.

For a mega moisturizing scrub, check out two of our newest body buffers, which both have a base of fair trade organic cocoa butter to leave skin not only smooth but deeply moisturized. Chocoholic? Cherryish is a deliciously fruity chocolate cherry delight that’s filled with ground cherry stones for perfectly polished skin. If you’re a fan of our honey-scented creations, you’ve got to try Scrubee: this industrious little bee has stripes of ground coconut shell to whip your skin into shape.

Cherryish Body Scrub in action

Cherryish Body Scrub in action

Almonds are fabulous exfoliating ingredients because ground almonds and ground almond shells have different textures for different scrubbing experiences. Take one of our face and body cleansers, Angels On Bare Skin, for example. It’s packed full of ground almonds, which offer a creamy scrub that’s gentle enough for all skin types. The ground almond shells in Brazened Honey provide a more vigorous scrub to leave skin polished and smooth. In Buffy, you can find ground rice and aduki beans along with ground almonds to slough off dry skin all over your body.

Salt and sugar are two more scrubby ingredients that we love, because salt and sugar-based scrubs can be adjusted to suit your needs. For a gentler scrub, add a bit of water to products to dissolve larger salt and sugar crystals, and for a more thorough exfoliation, use them as is. The mineral-rich sea salt in Ocean Salt and Rub Rub Rub not only exfoliates, but also re-mineralizes and brightens the skin. Scrubby sugar is used in the bewitching vanilla-black pepper The Rough With The Smooth and in our lip scrubs for unbelievably soft lips. 

Exfoliation is a lovely way to keep the skin healthy and functioning naturally, and it feels fantastic too. When deciding on the texture of an exfoliant and how often you should scrub, we recommend that you listen to your skin and base your decisions on your personal preferences. Need more help? Check out How to Choose Your Scrub or get to a Lush shop and feel our scrubby cleansers for yourself.

Share this story:

Products featured in this article:

Savez-vous exfolier?

Une bonne exfoliation adoucit et fait resplendir la peau
down arrow

Savez-vous exfolier?

Les bienfaits de l’exfoliation

Saviez-vous que la peau perd environ un million de cellules mortes par jour? Elle produit constamment de nouvelles cellules à mesure que les vieilles meurent.

Ces cellules sont tellement minuscules que ces changements quotidiens ne sont pas visibles à l’œil nu. Toutefois, lorsqu’on néglige l’exfoliation, ces peaux mortes peuvent se mélanger au sébum et bloquer les pores. Cela peut causer des points noirs, des boutons et un teint fade – rien de bon pour la peau!

Une autre raison de s’exfolier? Les satanés poils incarnés. Un poil incarné se produit lorsqu’un poil n’arrive pas à percer la peau à cause d’une barrière de cellules mortes. Imaginez une fleur qui essaie de pousser à travers une couche de ciment sur le trottoir. Elle resterait prise au piège! En exfoliant, vous enlevez donc la peau morte qui pourrait bloquer les pores et ainsi causer des poils incarnés.

Exfoliez naturellement

Nos produits ne contiennent pas de microbilles : nous utilisons uniquement des exfoliants naturels et biodégradables. Ils sont meilleurs pour l’environnement, car ils ne polluent pas nos cours d’eau, et ils sont excellents pour la peau. Que vous soyez à la recherche d’un exfoliant doux ou intense, nous avons celui qu’il vous faut.

Pour une exfoliation ultrahydratante, essayez deux de nos nouveaux beurres corporels, qui ont une base de beurre de cacao bioéquitable pour adoucir la peau et l’hydrater en profondeur. Accro du chocolat? Choco-cerise est un délice fruité au chocolat et aux cerises qui contient des noyaux de cerise moulus pour polir la peau à la perfection. Si vous aimez nos produits au parfum de miel, essayez Abeille : ce mignon petit insecte est orné de rayures de noix de coco moulues pour faire resplendir la peau.

Cherryish Body Scrub in action

Les amandes sont d’excellents exfoliants naturels, car les amandes moulues et les coquilles d’amandes ont des textures et des effets différents. Notre nettoyant Peau neuve est rempli d’amandes moulues qui procurent une exfoliation crémeuse, hydratante et assez douce pour tous les types de peau. Les coquilles d’amandes moulues dans le masque frais pour le visage Miel effronté procurent une exfoliation plus vigoureuse pour laisser la peau douce et lisse. Dans Buffy, vous trouverez du riz, des amandes et des haricots adzuki moulus pour éliminer la peau sèche sur tout le corps.

Nous aimons également utiliser du sel et du sucre dans nos produits, car les exfoliants qui en contiennent peuvent être ajustés pour convenir à vos besoins. Pour une exfoliation en douceur, ajoutez un peu d’eau au produit pour dissoudre les plus gros cristaux; pour une exfoliation plus intense, utilisez-le tel quel. Le sel de mer riche en minéraux dans notre exfoliant pour le visage et le corps Sel océanique et dans notre exfoliant pour la douche Lavez, lavez! (Savez-vous exfolier?) élimine les peaux mortes, reminéralise la peau et unifie le teint. Nous utilisons du sucre dans notre exfoliant pour le corps Pur et dur au parfum de vanille et de poivre noir et dans nos exfoliants pour les lèvres pour vous procurer des lèvres divinement douces.

L’exfoliation est une bonne manière de contribuer à la santé et au fonctionnement normal de votre peau. Lorsque vient le temps de choisir un exfoliant et de décider à quelle fréquence l’utiliser, nous vous conseillons de vous fier à votre peau et à vos préférences personnelles. Besoin d’aide? Consultez l’article Comment choisir son exfoliant ou visitez votre boutique Lush et faites-en l’essai par vous-même!

Partager cette histoire:

Produits mentionnés dans cet article :