Talking Scents: Uplifting Ingredients

Can scents really affect our mood?
down arrow

When it comes to how a smell makes you feel, it’s all in your head.

No, really! The part of your brain that’s responsible for your sense of smell (the limbic region) is also where you process emotions. Aromatherapy (the art and science of smell), works by first stimulating smell receptors in the nose. These receptors send messages via the nervous system to the brain, which end up stimulating not just scent memory, but also emotional memory.

You know the feeling of an uplifting scent: you catch a whiff and suddenly your mood is sunnier, your outlook is brighter and you have more energy. Maybe your neighbor is making lemon meringue pie, and you’re transported back in time to your grandmother’s porch, drinking ice cold freshly squeezed lemonade in the late August heat.

When our inventors are creating new products, they carefully study which ingredients will work well together. They consider not only how your hair and skin will feel, but how your mind will feel, too. When you’re lathering up in the shower, relaxing in the tub, or enjoying a lasting fragrance on your hair, you’re surrounded by their careful handiwork: the perfumes that have been chosen specifically to affect your mood.

Because we all have different experiences and memories, scents affect us in unique ways. An uplifting scent means something a little different to everyone. We’ve picked out a few of our favorite uplifting scents, but it’s up to you to sniff out the one you like best!


When you need a little something to get you going, your first thought may be to reach for the coffee pot. But have you considered how the scent of summery citrus fruits could deliver that energizing blast you need? Virtually every member of the citrus family, from lemons and limes to bergamot and grapefruit supply a fresh, invigorating experience.

We certainly do love our citrus ingredients at Lush, and it especially shows this Easter! Our returning favorite bath bombs, Which Came First? have a citrusy-sweet perfume made up of grapefruit and lemon oil plus a touch of vanilla. Do you like the Stripes or Spots design better? Choose your fave then crack it open for three uplifting soaks.  

If you prefer your citrusy scents in the shower, suds up with Here Comes The Sun Naked Shower Cream. With a triple-citrus perfume of mandarin, tangerine and bergamot oil, this creamy treat will soften skin and put a pep in your step on one swoop. 

Here Comes The Sun Naked Shower Cream

Here Comes The Sun Naked Shower Cream


Imagine the energizing feeling of a brisk walk in the woods, breathing in the fresh air from giant redwoods, or strolling through a crisp pine forest. That sense of clarity and energy is the effect that woodsy, earthy fragrances like sandalwood, rosemary, cedarwood and pine can have on your mood. By tapping into a fresh and earthy mentality, you’re free to let go of stress and focus on enjoying the beauty around you.

Our signature perfume, Karma, is a gorgeous blend of patchouli, pine and lemongrass oils—perfect for refreshing your senses and elevating your mood with a single spritz. This Easter, April Showers Bath Bomb's woodsy perfume will leave you feeling fab. An intricate blend of cedarwood and cypress oils and the verdant floral fragrance of violet leaf absolute make your troubles float away to the treetops. 


There’s a good reason why mint is one of the most popular flavors for toothpaste and chewing gum: because of the refreshing, uplifting blast it delivers! If you love the fresh feeling of peppermint, cinnamon or tea tree, it’s easy to liven up your mood the herbal way.

New for Easter, our Cream Eggs pack a refreshing punch with zippy spearmint oil. Choose your favorite color from Blue, Pink or Yellow, then sink into minty shea butter waters under a blanket of foam. 

Mint Julips, our mint-flavored lip scrub is a delicious way to feel fresh and uplifted. Full of pure peppermint oil, this sweet and scrubby treat will leave your lips soft and your senses awakened. The spicy and herbal blend of cinnamon, clove and peppermint in our New Shampoo Bar is lovely for promoting a healthy scalp, and for delivering an energizing pick-me-up to your mood, too; and our Tea Tree Toners tea tree water clears congested or oily skin and leaves your mind feeling refreshed, too.

Whether you find lemon, mint, pine (or something else entirely!) uplifting, one of our fragrant inventions is sure to bring a sparkle to you eye and a spring to your step. Visit your local shop to sniff around, have a browse online, or call our friendly customer care team for a personalized product consultation at 1-888-733-5874.

Share this story:

Products featured in this article:

Soyez au parfum : les ingrédients vivifiants

Les parfums influencent-ils vraiment notre humeur?
down arrow

La mémoire olfactive, ça existe?

Oui, ça existe! Le système limbique est le siège des odeurs, mais aussi des émotions. L’aromathérapie fonctionne en stimulant les récepteurs olfactifs de la cavité nasale. Ces récepteurs envoient un message au système nerveux qui stimule non seulement la mémoire, mais aussi la mémoire émotive.

Qui ne connaît pas le sentiment que procure un parfum vivifiant? Vous attrapez une bouffée d’air frais, et vous êtes soudainement de bonne humeur, plus positif et énergique. À la boulangerie, vous sentez l’odeur des petits pains chauds tout juste sortis du four; vous êtes transporté en un instant dans la cuisine de votre grand-mère lorsque vous étiez enfant.

Lorsque nos inventeurs créent des produits, ils étudient attentivement les ingrédients complémentaires. Ils prennent en compte vos cheveux et votre peau, mais aussi votre esprit. Lorsque vous utilisez un produit Lush, tel qu’un gel douche, une bombe relaxante ou un shampooing, vous êtes envahi de parfums qui ont été sélectionnés pour influencer votre humeur.

Comme nous avons des expériences et des souvenirs différents, les parfums nous influencent tous de différentes façons. Nous avons choisi quelques-unes de nos fragrances préférées pour vous les présenter!

Agrumes

Vous avez besoin d’un petit remontant le matin? Oubliez le café. Les agrumes peuvent vous fournir le coup de fouet dont vous avez besoin. Tous les fruits de la famille des agrumes, allant du citron et de la lime à la bergamote et au pamplemousse, procurent une expérience revigorante et fraîche!

Chez Lush, nous adorons les agrumes, ce qui est particulièrement évident dans notre nouvelle gamme de Pâques! Notre populaire bombe pour le bain L’œuf ou la poule? est de retour cette année avec son parfum acidulé et sucré aux huiles essentielles de pamplemousse et de citron avec une touche de vanille. Aimez-vous mieux la version avec des rayures ou des pois? Choisissez celle qui vous plaît et profitez de trois bains rafraîchissants.

Si vous préférez prendre des douches, optez pour la crème de douche nue Here Comes The Sun! Avec un triple parfum d’agrumes aux huiles essentielles de mandarine, de tangerine et de bergamote, ce nettoyant crémeux adoucit la peau et vous redonne de l’entrain.

La crème de douche nue Here Comes The Sun

Here Comes The Sun Naked Shower Cream

 

Boisé

Respirer l’air frais des montagnes, marcher dans une forêt de pins ou se promener près d’un lac au couché du soleil; imaginez le sentiment qui vous envahit en humant les parfums boisés et terreux comme le bois de santal, le romarin et le pin. En tirant parti de ces fragrances, vous chasserez le stress et serez plus encrés dans le moment présent.

Karma, notre fragrance signature, contient des huiles essentielles de patchouli, de pin et de citronnelle. C’est le mélange parfait pour rafraîchir vos sens et élever votre esprit. Cette année, pour Pâques, la bombe pour le bain Les pluies d’avril parfumera votre peau d’une fragrance boisée irrésistible. Un mélange délicat d’huiles essentielles de bois de cèdre et de cyprès et l’arôme verdoyant de l’absolu de feuille de violette vous permettront d’oublier tous vos soucis.

Herbacé

Il y a de bonnes raisons qui expliquent la popularité de la menthe dans les dentifrices et la gomme à mâcher : elle est rafraîchissante et stimulante! Si vous aimez la sensation de fraîcheur de la menthe poivrée, de la cannelle ou de l’arbre à thé, les parfums herbacés sont parfaits pour vous.

Nouvellement arrivé pour Pâques, le macaron moussant Œuf crémeux rafraîchit avec son parfum stimulant d’huile essentielle de menthe verte. Choisissez la version bleue, rose ou jaune et plongez dans des bulles mentholées au beurre de karité.

Mint Julèvres, notre exfoliant sucré pour les lèvres à saveur de menthe, est rempli d’huile de menthe poivrée pure pour laisser sur vos lèvres cette sensation de fraîcheur que vous aimez tant. Le mélange épicé de cannelle, de clous de girofle et de menthe poivrée de notre pain shampooing Neuf améliore la santé du cuir chevelu et revigore les sens. Pour complémenter le tout, notre tonique Eau de Melaleuca nettoie les pores et le sébum pour une peau radieuse et fraîche!

Peu importe le parfum que vous recherchez, vous trouverez sans doute une invention pour éveiller votre esprit et faire entrer le printemps dans votre salle de bain. Visitez votre boutique Lush, notre site Web ou téléphonez au service à la clientèle au 1 888 733-5874 pour une consultation personnalisée.

Lorsque nos inventeurs créent des produits, ils étudient attentivement les ingrédients complémentaires. Ils prennent en compte vos cheveux et votre peau, mais aussi votre esprit.
Partager cette histoire:

Catégories :

Catégories :

Découvrir d'autres histoires

Produits mentionnés dans cet article :

Produits mentionnés dans cet article :

Sex-appeal (agrumons-nous)
Savon

Sex-appeal (agrumons-nous)

Un délicieux savon à la marmelade

4.5 stars out of 5
À vos bains!
Bombe pour le bain

À vos bains!

Une bombe acidulée à la citronnelle

4.5 stars out of 5
Karma
Parfum

Karma

Épices et agrumes

null stars out of 5
Mint Julèvres Mint Julèvres
Exfoliant pour les lèvres

Mint Julèvres

Exfoliant au sucre mentholé pour des lèvres des plus douces

4 stars out of 5
Tea Tree Water Tea Tree Water
Toner

Tea Tree Water

Équilibre et calme la peau grasse

5 stars out of 5
Côté ensoleillé
Pain moussant

Côté ensoleillé

Ensoleillez les jours gris

5 stars out of 5
Neuf
Pains shampooing

Neuf

Sensation de propreté intense

5 stars out of 5